Since this is only my second review I will keep posting the following description…

I plan to review restaurants where I can practice choosing foods on the Metabolic Typing Diet plan.  Just like most, I worry about food choices I make when I eat out, but ever since I made the choice to listen to my body (which by the way, DUH! that’s how WE should eat) and follow The Metabolic Typing Diet plan, eating out has become a breeze!

If I have never mentioned, I am a “Mix-Type” which means that my macronutrient ratio should be 50% carbohydrates / 50% proteins & fats (30/20).  Additionally, because I know what happens to my food after I swallow it, I make sure I only eat low to medium starch carbohydrates after lunch because my energy expenditure will slowly decrease as the evening comes along, unless of course I plan to dance the night away!  (See below for reminders on types, macronutrients, etc.)

FYI: I will use a 5 star rating structure, where stars will be given based on the following five categories to come up with the overall experience rating.

  1. Food choices, does the restaurant offer food choices that can satisfy my diet plan
  2. The food we actually order
  3. The desert (yes, it’s own star)
  4. Ambiance
  5. Service

Overall I give 21st Amendment 3.25  stars! Based on the criteria above minus desert, 😦 blasphemy on us, but we were running late for our movie… Can’t be late to see Wolverine, I mean Hugh, I mean robots who can dance and kick-ass!
21stamendment 21st Amendment Brewery & Restaurant is probably best known for being a watering-hole for fans interested in pre/post game shenanigans since it’s right by AT&T Ballpark.  I know a little about shenanigans, sheneenee for short, but I know nothing of beer, though they must serve it right gauging by the cheer of the room– lot’s of smiley faces.  Or were they just happy to see us 😉  Anyhow, what I do know is how to eat for my metabolic type and thank goodness burgers are just my type!

Eating out is best with a friend who has similar tastes and likes to share entrees!  We ordered the Spinach and Arugula Salad (baby spinach, arugula, Bosc pears, candied pecans and shaved Parmesan with red wine-Dijon vinaigrette) Spinach arugala pear saladand their  Classic Burger made with Fresh Niman Ranch ground chuck served with sliced tomatoes and grilled onions made to order with avocado and cheddar cheese.

We shared our plates and had the perfect portions we each needed for our similar, yet individualized meal plans.  What do I mean by that? hamburger w cheddar & avocadoWell, yes we split the burger in half, but then, listening to each of our bodies, we either ate more or less of the salad, burger, and fries depending on what each of our bodies wanted/needed.  (Read more here about intuitive eating on the Metabolic Typing Diet)  I’m not going to lie, I ate like 3 fries, not that I was counting, but really, that’s all my body wanted; I did devour my burger because it was exactly what I wanted- and needed.  By the way, the salad was a perfect mix of tart, salty, and sweet- kind of like my dinner-mate!

Alas, I may need to go back to 21st to redo this thing again with desert, or maybe because my girl needs another chance to conquer a certain Scandinavian… what?! (don’t kill me) I just like to watch animal planet.  Today on the Serengeti…

Have you been here? Or do you have a restaurant suggestion- comment and let me know! Thank you!

Pics: Photos taken by me except for restaurant shot taken from other people who must have been there too, Yelp!

Just a quick reminder of the macronutrient ratios for the Metabolic Typing Types:

Protein Type: 70% proteins & fats (40/30) / 30% carbohydrates

Carbohydrate Type: 60% carbohydrates / 40% proteins & fats (25/15)

Mix-Type: 50% carbohydrates / 50% proteins & fats (30/20)

*In General: Protein Types should avoid Gluten, Protein & Mix-Types should have high fiber, low-to-medium starch carbs, and sprouted grains.

*There is no calorie counting in the Metabolic Typing Diet. Reason being, if you eat for your body type, your body will know when to stop.  No over-eating.  No cravings.  No depriving.

Go buy The Metabolic Typing Diet book and take the test to find out what you are!

About Jeanne Floresca - EFT & Matrix Reimprinting Practitioner

Jeanne Floresca is a Certified Matrix Reimprinting & EFT Practitioner and helps people find health, happiness, and love through self-healing. She also loves to write about ageless living, natural beauty, and mindful wellness. Find her at InspireYouthful.com or MatrixLoveCoach.com

Leave a Reply

