I am reading the book  The Metabolic Typing Diet: Customize Your Diet to Your Own Unique Body Chemistry; let’s just say it’s ringing some bells!  Imagine a perspective where you eat for what your body needs?  That seems logical enough, but the current facts are most nutritional guidelines and suggestions by doctors, registered dietitians, governments, and alike tell us all to eat the same way.  How can we all be suggested to follow the same diet plan when we all have different bodies; different genetics, ethnic backgrounds, lifestyles, and environments? Think about it.

Not to bash on a universal meal plan because if I had to advise people, and I do, to eat healthily, I have always advocated the eating habits of:

  1. Eat natural foods;  lean meats, fishes, vegetables, fruits, and nuts
  2. Portion control; eat 5-6 small meals throughout the day
  3. Always have carbs/protein/fat at every meal and snack

The universal meal plan has its place and that place is for people who in general have good health.  The meal plan above will also help people lose weight because it probably is healthier than their existing eating habits.  But, how about if we can take eating healthier one step further? Well, that’s what metabolic typing does.  Instead of a universal meal plan, it takes into consideration your individuality on various levels and creates a meal plan where you feed your body what it needs; essentially, creating harmony with your nutrients and your body so that you can have healthier cells, increased homeostasis in your body systems, and forge a healthier you.

One aspect of the metabolic typing diet that intrigued me was the idea of “listening” to your body.   More specifically, it’s about paying attention to the effects of the food you eat on your body including the effects on your overall mood and energy level.   That’s right!  Food affects our body functions, energy levels, and mood- we know this, but do we listen to our bodies—really?  I think most people and until recently including myself, would eat in general making healthy choices, but never seeing past those choices because they were healthy ones, if in fact those foods made our bodies healthier.

Here is an example of listening to the effects of your food in your body:

When you eat a light  lunch of chicken salad, how do you feel in the afternoon?

1. feel energized

2. feel lethargic

3. feel no difference

When you eat a heavier lunch like hamburger and fries, how do you feel in the afternoon?

1. feel energized

2. feel lethargic

3. feel no difference

FYI- there are no bad or good foods, except perhaps for anything made with high fructose corn syrup, but in any case, think of food more of as– which foods are more right for you

and of course, when should you eat it and how much.

So guess what I did?  Not only am I listening, but I’m straight up asking because I’m bold and efficient like that!  I asked my body why do I have acid reflux and nausea every day beginning at 10am.  And of course, my body answered me.  My intuition told me it was my morning coffee.  I listened to my body and stopped drinking coffee as of 4 days ago and since then have not had an acid episode.  After this revelation, guess who won’t stop advising?  My body and intuition have had the gall to tell me other things regarding my food choices and now I guess I have the mind to listen!  See how I’m cooking (recipes) and eating now, even when I’m out 😉, but enough about my food revelations-

how about yours?

Go buy The Metabolic Typing Diet: Customize Your Diet to Your Own Unique Body Chemistry  book, it’s well written and easy to understand.  Take the 65 question, multiple choice, metabolic questionnaire provided in the book and figure out how you should be eating.  Then listen to your body.

Here is a question: has your personal trainer or nutritionist asked you 65 questions about how you eat?

One more thing, SO WHAT”S ON YOUR PLATE?

TNT (Till Next Tuesday =)

Comments are cool!  Kindly, leave them below!  Thank you!

About Jeanne Floresca - EFT & Matrix Reimprinting Practitioner

Jeanne Floresca is a Certified Matrix Reimprinting & EFT Practitioner and helps people find health, happiness, and love through self-healing. She also loves to write about ageless living, natural beauty, and mindful wellness. Find her at InspireYouthful.com or MatrixLoveCoach.com

4 responses »

  1. […] Food Prep is a weekly post of Metabolic Typing Diet and now adding  Paleo Comfort Foods cook book inspired recipes to feed me and my honey!  Yes, […]

  2. […] Food Prep is a weekly post of Metabolic Typing Diet inspired recipes to feed me and my honey!  Generally, it is meant to feed us for a few days, but […]

  3. […] Food Prep will be a weekly post of Metabolic Typing Diet inspired recipes to feed me and my honey!  I am a busy gal and can’t make dinner every night […]

  4. […] Food Prep will be a weekly post of Metabolic Typing Diet inspired recipes to feed me and my honey!  I am a busy gal and can’t make dinner every night […]

Leave a Reply

